sun, moon and stars brother, all sweet things

This is a big post with photos for your more extra enjoyment.


This is a photo of my mother and Bub disappearing in a kayak in the evening. It really wasn’t that black, more of a gentle gray, but I was still alarmed! The kayak is in the middle if you turn your brightness up…

It was a ‘my family is crazy’ moment, followed this week by going to swim at Cronulla with my other sister, the day after the shortest day of the year. It was freezing! I struggled to get in but was suddenly motivated by another blog I read, where a lady spending winter in Antarctica just did the Polar Plunge, one of their midwinter traditions.

We’ve booked a wee beach shack at Nusa Lembongan for our time in Bali after the others leave. So hopefully a bit of warm swimming and surfing! My sister claims to have chosen the place with the least information available on the web, including the promising “I may not reply to emails for a few days… Island life!” His email was pretty funny as well and he sent pictures:

looking forward to this

It is time to mention rugby, our game last weekend was quite muddy and raining a little bit. We won by lots and I played the whole time because we didn’t have many people 😀 I was pretty happy. I even caught the ball once, not by trying, I was just accidentally in the right place. It wasn’t a great place though, ran straight into a wall of fat chicks… hmm… It was a fun game though, we have an awesome five-eighth who leads more and actually felt like a team of backs working on our moves at training. Ok we don’t have that many moves but I was told some new things I can do when on the blind wing which was cool. Captain ‘you’re the fastest person on the team probably so run over there’ I think she was buttering me up but I’ll take it.

This week we did tackle practice, felt good at the time but so sore the next day oh my goodness. I can tell I was going on one side much more often, because one side of my neck and ribs hurts! We practiced really late, we are so much more dedicated than the boys! Saturday was finally sunny and warm (for winter) and the grass was so cuddly…. tough to actually run on though… I only did half the game and didn’t feel fantastic but coach gave me a point so it must have been alright 🙂 It’s like a 3-2-1 points thing. I bounced off a tackle early on but knocked the ball off her and everyone was super enthused, I had a run that was maybe ok distance wise but I got shoved into touch, and one time there was a loose ball near their line and I fell on it. That is the Things That I Did. I keep ’em as little lists.

getting ready for the game in front of one of those bits of Sydney Uni that we plaster all over the advertising brochures as if everyone goes there. In fact it’s one of the most exclusive colleges, but at least we can use their ovals.

Backed up with sailing on Sunday. I saw Boy down there and then saw he was going out on our old boat which was unexpected, the skipper is meant to be away, and it really hurt and I thought I would have a shit day just thinking of it all the time. Then my boat did the only thing that could have made me happy and asked me to do main trim. I did admit I haven’t done this in a while, meaning more like, I’ve done this on a big boat for about half a race once, but it was tots fine. We came third which is their best result by far in the series so clearly the engine was working.

the boat I was on, not so bad looking

It really made me feel like I made the right decision. Coz I would never be allowed to do main on our old boat despite my loyalty. The skipper is so lovely but really protective of me. Frankly they don’t seem to be making the best use of Boy either. This new boat is always carrying a few of my favourite people from my days at the YSA and absolutely encouraging everyone to have a go. I want to come back now… I didn’t hang around for drinks but maybe should have. Anyway it was an awesome day. A bit tough on the hands, they’ve gone soft and I had to put ice on them when I got home – much better! Now at work but they don’t need me so ‘studying’ finally for my last exam!

Leave a comment